The Blogging year of 2011

First of all, I’d like to say that I hope you are still having a Merry Christmas and that you all will have a Happy New Year.

This last year has been one where I have decided to take stock of a few things and have a little bit of a rethink about so many other things. I won’t go into all of them here, but it would be fair to say that 2012 has quite a few challenges for me personally.

Blogging.

Over the last 2 or 3 years, I have had various blogs on the go at the same time. I have had two with WordPress.com and two with Google’s Blogger. While the Blogger accounts have had varying ‘success’ as far as readership is concerned, and while it seems to do a reasonable job of offering a wide readership, I have since decided to close them and delete them. I tended to use them as a platform for showing other people’s blogs that had interested me and it was so easy to send them to Blogger via Google Reader. Never the less, they are now deleted into the big archive that Google keeps somewhere in the ether or server no doubt. I will continue to be blogging though, just very differently I hope.

So what will my immediate blogging career look like? Well, I currently have two blogs with wordpress.com and will continue to keep them going. One of them is a very recent one where a small group of us took part in an Advent Blog. Four of us rotated a day at a time with various readings according to the Lectionary and we wrote a devotion which was then publicised on Facebook and I promoted it on Twitter. I think it went well, geographically we are quite broad. One from Edinburgh, one from Dewsbury in my home county of West Yorkshire, one from Bristol and myself from Bolton.

I suggested that we might do the same for Lent and maybe Easter, hopefully with some additional faces to add content. I personally think this is the way to go as far as blogging goes. People tend to be quite seasonal in their interest of Christianity. What was also interesting was that people seem to need a holy fix on Sundays more than any other day – readership always seemed to peak on Sundays (the very thing most Ministers battle with amongst their congregations). People certainly lack the idea of rhythm in their lives and a 7 day faith.

The other blog is my personal one which has in the past contained very little of my own stuff. I have tended to post articles from all forms of media, but particularly other people’s blogs. Why, well I have always thought that everybody is far more eloquent with text and expressing their ideas than I am. Maybe that is something I need to work on! This blog will on occasion have articles posted on my wall on Facebook, but I generally intend to develop a readership through WordPress and Twitter – It makes things more simple for me when there may be something controversial written or the subject is sensitive.

Facebook.

For those who know me, I really have a love/hate relationship with this. So much so that I hardly ever refer to it by it’s proper name but by how it is often used/intended – Spybook. Amongst my friends I have a large percentage that are not Christian (which I pride myself on as most of them are from my RAF days in the 1980’s). I must confess, I have probably come across as being on a soap-box to many of these people when I post articles on my wall. Maybe this has alienated them, but having said that I am always surprised by people. For this reason I will be changing drastically the kind of material that I post on my Spybook Wall, and hopefully be more inclusive for them and others. Facebook will continue to receive updates from my Goodreads.com account re progress with current reading.

Twitter.

Twitter is another one of those strange beasts. I have recently closed one account and started another and may well create two different people on there. I decided to close one account as it was becoming quite impossible to keep up with things (I culled people as I do on occasion with Spybook but it became a chore), so I have become someone else and transferred a few long term contacts onto the new one. In the past it was again, very Churchy but also very ecumenical at the same time. There are times when I just can’t help speaking out against things e.g. the St. Pauls Camp and the Anglicans excelling in media!!

Twitter is very much an exploration for me in its use. Sometimes I find it of no use whatsoever, and yet sometimes the opposite when I discover some useful snippets, links etc. Maybe I can turn it into some sort of research tool and a test-bed for article ideas…. time will only tell.

So, once again thank you who ever you are out there. I’d appreciate feedback and comments etc. I will continue my policy of choosing what will and won’t be included for all to see, but be assured that I will read all that comes this way…. it is my blog after all!

Take care and God Bless.

 

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

